top of page

Bacon and Onion (Sweet Potato) Pie

So yesterday I decided that I am sick of Sandwiches, and as much as I love Hot-Dogs... I can't eat that for 40 days. In the cupboard I had 2 (huge) Sweet Potatoes and decided that I should make 'Cottage Pie' with these two. A while ago I made Eisbein and Sweet Potato Pie and thought that bacon will do the trick today. What else goes well with Bacon? Red Onions! Spring Onions! What goes well with Plum Chutney? Coriander!

So here is what I made (and it was quick as well).

  • I cut the Sweet Potato in discs (didn't peel it) and place in water that almost covered it. Don't want to waste too much of the natural taste

  • Once cooked, I mashed the sweet potato with 125ml Fresh Cream, a generous amount of Cayenne Pepper and Cinnamon and added Syrup because I had no Honey.

  • Placed my (chopped) Mushrooms, Red Onion (yes, a whole one) and 2 Garlic cloves in a pan with some Olive Oil and sauteed it.

  • I then added a generous amount of Herbs and Plum Chutney (from D'Aria Wine Farm)

  • I placed all of it into a foil bread pan and put in the oven for 20min at 180C

Oh, and I used mixed spices, the fancy ones that you buy at food markets etc. This one had Red Peppercorns, CHili flakes, Garlic flakes and Himalayan salt in it.

Hope you try it and best of all... enjoy it as much as I did.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page