top of page

Moist Chocolate Cake

"Nine out of ten people like chocolate. The tenth person always lies."

- John Q. Tullius

How else would you Google for a chocolate cake recipe? I was looking for something quick (and I do not have my recipe books amongst me), cooking you make things up as you go along but with baking I have not yet reached that skill. I can tell the difference between a bread dough and dough for a scone but that is about how brilliant my baking science goes. Solution to that? BAKE MORE!

I have been craving something chocolaty (not just a slab, more than that). Chocolate on it's own is good but sometimes you want more, you need more, more than a hot drink that quickly passes the taste buds. You need something that lingers! Something like a soft, warm, mouth filling, stick-to-your-palate sweetness... like moist chocolate cake. The type you can't eat without chocolate around your lips, rubbed on your teeth and you can't really speak because it takes you a while to get all the chocolate down your throat and looking 'appropriate enough' to talk further.

So, all you need for this cake is:

  • 1/2 cup Cocoa

  • 1/2 cup milk

  • 2 tbsp Butter

  • 1/4 cup Oil

  • 1 cup Self Raising Flour

  • 1 Egg (beaten)

  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda

  • 1 cup + 2tbsp Sugar

You melt the butter in the milk, oil and cocoa. Then when well mixed you let it cool. Then you add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. It seems very runny but it's fine.

Then you bake at 200 degrees for 25-30 min. Remember that the longer it bakes the dryer it'll be.

When still warm (from the oven), start spreading the caramel on top. I believe you should allow the caramel to melt a bit and make sure you do not give the cake any chance to dry out. The cake will not be removed from the pan either so no worries about the melting caramel.

When done decorating, EAT!

Quick and easy! Hope you enjoy it (I know I enjoyed about half of it at once).

Chocolate Cake.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page